Top 250 rock albums : Number 8 – Jagged Little Pill


Jagged Little Pill by Alanis Morissette

8.  Jagged Little Pill – Alanis Morissette

Jagged Little Pill was Alanis Morissette’s third studio album, and undoubtedly her best work.  No less than six singles came from the album spanning five years – ‘you outta know’, ‘hand in my pocket’, ‘ironic’, ‘you learn’, ‘head over feet’ and ‘all i really want’ were all released as singles and each track a masterpiece.

It is still as fresh now as when it was released in 1995, Alanis’ vocals are absolutely first class, and to be honest, that is all the album needs.  If there was no music and all you were listening to mas the vocals then I don’t think anyone would complain.

Tracklist:

1.  All I Really Want
2.  You Outta Know
3.  Perfect
4.  Hand in My Pocket
5.  Right Through You
6.  Forgiven
7.  You Learn
8.  Head Over Feet
9.  Mary Jane
10. Ironic
11. Not the Doctor
12. Wake Up

Can i pick a favourite track?  Well I have always had a soft spot for the opening track, ‘All I Really Want’.

  for only £3.99!

4 comments on “Top 250 rock albums : Number 8 – Jagged Little Pill

  1. I like Alanis Morrisette but I highly doubt her album would obtain #8 on the best 250 albums of all time. Is this just your own internal poll? Everyone knows that these artists: The Beatles, The Who, The Rolling Stones, David Bowie, Elvis Presley, Michael Jackson, the motown artists, and any of the bands from the British invasion would all take up the first 25 out of the best 205 I would think. Alanis’ album is probably more like # 801.

    • Thanks for your comment. It is my own list and obviously not everyone will agree with it. I knew this would be a highly debatable decision, but the album has a lot of memories for me and I genuinely think it’s a stunning album! This is purely a rock album top 250 so MJ won’t get a mention. However if you look at the full countdown then there are plenty of Beatles, Stones etc there – I am not a fan of Bowie at all tho i’m afraid!

      What would your top 10/20 be then?

Leave a Reply

